Our museum at a glance


Wertheim Glass Museum

Big House

Museum workshop

The museum glassblower demonstrates how glass is processed in front of the 1200 °C flame. He demonstrates to visitors how a glass ball is blown from a glass tube, how the foot of a drinking glass is spun open or how a glass animal is hot-assembled. On request, he makes replicas of historical glasses, blows each visitor their own individual glass for home and invites visitors to blow a glass ball themselves.

Museum shop

In the museum shop, visitors can purchase glass replicas, products of the Wertheim glass industry, modern glass art objects or buy glass souvenirs for home, friends or family. In doing so, they support glass craftsmanship and contribute to the continued existence of the GLASMUSEUM WERTHEIM e. V..

The A - Z Collection

On the first and first floors, the GLASMUSEUM WERTHEIM shows more than 3000 years of glass history, from the Egyptian luxury alb vessel to the Wertheim special glass industry that still exists today.

Small house

Historical Christmas tree ornament collection
The development of the Thuringian Christmas tree ornament industry - the basis of the Wertheim laboratory glassware industry

Thuringian Christmas tree decorations made of glass have been on sale since the Biedermeier period. In the first half of the 19th century, the Christmas tree was no longer only set up in squares in the cities, but was brought into the "good parlour" of the citizens.

The glass Christmas tree ornaments developed from the fruit and knick-knack figures that the Thuringian glassblowers made on the simple bellows-powered blowing lamp. The figures were then colourfully painted with gelatine dyes and even then exported as far as Nippon, in German Japan.

Three developments enabled a rapid increase in the production of glass Christmas tree decorations: the introduction of the gasworks in Lauscha in 1867 and the production of aniline dyes in the first tar factory founded a year earlier by the English chemist William Henry Perkin near London. Added to this was the non-toxic internal silvering developed by the chemist Justus von Liebig, which contributed to a gigantic variety of shapes and colours. Figures such as Pinocchio, who grows a long nose when he lies, or Wilhelm Busch's Max and Moritz have enjoyed increasing popularity in recent years. During the annual Christmas exhibition at the Wertheim Glass Museum from 1 Advent to 6 January, they decorate the four-metre-high "Thuringian Figurine Tree".

 

Big House

Glass from A to Z

The more than 3000-year-old history of glass as a material in just one exhibition - that's something you can only find here in the Wertheim Glass Museum. You can take a look at each letter of the exhibition online.

Treasures made of glass

50 precious glass objects exemplify the development of glass and advances in glass technology from antiquity to the present day.

Alois Wienand Collection

You are standing in the middle of a sample collection with 75 replicas of historical glasses, which the former glassmaker from the Wertheim glassworks has produced using the techniques he researched and experimentally (re)developed from the Middle Ages and early modern times, based on originals, reconstruction drawings and book originals. Celtic glass arm rings are a special feature.

Small house

Glass Bead Cabinet

The "Glass Bead Cabinet" provides an insight into the development of the first glass objects and their role in mythology, religion, as trade or fashion objects. The scientifically valuable and well-known glass bead collection of the Mainz scientist Thea Elisabeth Hävernick and the glass bead collection of the Glass Museum illustrate the great craftsmanship with which even the early advanced civilisations created true masterpieces of glass.

Scientific Glass Cabinet

The "Scientific Glass Cabinet shows the development of glass as an instrument for research and science and as an indispensable material for industry. The didactic presentation of the exhibits (including barometers, cobbler's balls, light bulbs, lenses) is aimed primarily at young people in order to promote their interest in science and technology.

Paperweights

The "Paperweight Cabinet with more than 600 glass paperweights from the collection of Peter von Brackels from Bad Honnef shows paperweights from the period of late Biedermeier, Historicism, Art Nouveau, Art Deco up to modern times, as they were produced in Germany, Bohemia, Silesia, Belgium, Italy, France and other European countries. On display are very rare so-called "classical" paperweights from the period from 1840/42 to around 1860/70 ("millefiori", sulphide, lamp glass paperweights"), the "early post-classical" period from around 1870/80 to around 1905/10 ("folk art" or "work break" paperweights", the "other post-classical" period from around 1880/90 to 1945 as well as collectors' items from today.

 

 

Big House

Glass from A to Z

Wertheim experienced an enormous economic upswing in the 1950s. The reason for this was the specialisation in the glass industry that still exists today with the production and further processing of technical laboratory glass. The founding of the "Glaswerk Wertheim" in 1949 was an important milestone. Five glass entrepreneurs from Thuringia thus secured their source of raw materials: Rudolf Brand, Dr. Fritz Friedrichs, Josef Friedrichs, Dr. Hans Löber and Carl Zitzmann. Today, Wertheim is the second largest centre of the German laboratory glass industry after Mainz and before Ilmenau in Thuringia. An impressive collection of how glass is used in industry is presented in the exhibition "Glass from A to Z" on the second floor.

Playstation course: For children

Play station course with 35 glass play stations as an interactive presentation based on the model of the Federal Association of German Children's and Youth Museums, in which not only children and young people can 'grasp' the many facets of glass as a material in a playful way.

 

  • from 09.04.22: new guide "Follow your heart - and discover the material glass".
    Opening hours with glassblowing demonstrations:
    Tue - Sun + public holidays: 2 - 5 p.m.; closed 24.+31.12.
    You can find our current museum opening hours on our homepage.

Here you can find all the information about our loanable hands-on exhibition "Energy Trail - All Energy Comes from the Sun?" with 30 interactive stations on the topic of energy.

Unser Museum auf einen Blick

Glasmuseum Wertheim

Großes Haus

Museumswerkstatt

Der Museumsglasbläser zeigt vor der 1200 °C heißen Flamme die Weiterverarbeitung von Glas. Er führ den Besucher*innen vor, wie aus einem Glasrohr eine Glaskugel geblasen wird, der Fuß eines Trinkglases aufgeschleudert oder ein Glastier heiß montiert wird. Auf Wunsch fertigt er Nachbildungen historischer Gläser, bläst jedem Besucher sein individuelles Glas für zu Hause und lädt die Besucher*innen ein, selbst eine Glaskugel zu blasen.

Museumsshop

Im Museumsshop können Besucher*innen Glasreplikate, Produkte der Wertheimer Glasindustrie, moderne Glaskunstobjekte erwerben oder gläserne Erinnerungen für zu Hause, für Freunde oder Familie erwerben. Damit unterstützen sie die Glashandwerkskunst und tragen zum Fortbestand des GLASMUSEUM WERTHEIM e. V. bei.

Die Sammlung A – Z

Im ersten und zweiten Obergeschoss zeigt das GLASMUSEUM WERTHEIM die mehr als 3000 jährige Glas-Geschichte vom ägyptischen Luxussalbgefäß bis zur heute noch existierenden Wertheimer Spezialsglasindustrie.

Kleines Haus

Historische Christbaumschmuck-Sammlung
Die Entwicklung der Thüringer Christbaumschmuckindustrie – Grundlage der Wertheimer Laborglasindustrie
 

Thüringischer Christbaumschmuck aus Glas wird seit der Biedermeierzeit angeboten. In der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts wurde der Weihnachtsbaum nicht mehr nur auf Plätzen in den Städten aufgestellt, sondern in die „gute Stube“ der Bürger geholt.

Der gläserne Christbaumschmuck entwickelte sich aus den Früchten und Nippesfiguren, die die thüringischen Glasbläser an der einfachen, mit einem Blasebalg versorgten Gebläselampe fertigten. Anschließend wurden die Figuren mit Gelatinefarben bunt angemalt und bereits damals bis nach Nippon, auf Deutsch Japan, exportiert.

Drei Entwicklungen ermöglichten einen rasanten Anstieg der gläsernen Christbaumschmuck-Produktion: die Einführung der Gasanstalt in Lauscha 1867 und die Produktion von Anilinfarben in der ein Jahr vorher durch den englischen Chemiker William Henry Perkin bei London gegründeten ersten Teerfabrik. Hinzu kam die von dem Chemiker Justus von Liebig entwickelte ungiftige Innenversilberung, die zu einer gigantischen Formen- und Farbenvielfalt beitrug. Figuren wie Pinocchio, dem beim Lügen eine lange Nase wächst, oder Wilhelm Buschs Max und Moritz erfreuten sich in den vergangenen Jahren wachsender Beliebtheit. Während der jährlich stattfindenden Weihnachtsausstellung im Glasmuseum Wertheim vom 1. Advent bis zum 6. Januar schmücken sie den vier Meter hohen „Thüringer Figuren-Baum“.

 

Großes Haus

Glas von A bis Z

Die mehr als 3000 Jahre alte Geschichte des Werk(t)stoffs Glas in nur einer Ausstellung – das gibt es nur bei uns im Wertheimer Glasmuseum. Online gibts einen Einblick in jeden Buchstaben der Ausstellung.

Kostbarkeiten aus Glas

50 Kostbarkeiten aus Glas stehen beispielhaft für die Entwicklung des Glases und der glastechnologischen Fortschritte von der Antike bis heute.

Alois-Wienand-Sammlung

Sie stehen in mitten einer Mustersammlung mit 75 Nachbildungen historischer Gläser, die der ehemalige Glasmacher aus dem Glaswerk Wertheim mit den von ihm recherchierten und experimentell (wieder)entwickelten Techniken aus dem Mittelalter und der frühen Neuzeit nach Originalen, Rekonstruktionszeichnungen und Buchvorlagen gefertigt hat. Eine Besonderheit sind keltische Glasarmringe.

Kleines Haus

Glasperlen-Kabinett

Das „Glasperlen-Kabinett“ gibt einen Einblick in die Entwicklung der ersten gläsernen Gegenstände und deren Rolle in Mythologie, Religion, als Handels- oder Modeobjekt. Die wissenschaftlich wertvolle und in Fachkreisen bekannte Glasperlen-Sammlung der Mainzer Wissenschaftlerin Thea Elisabeth Hävernick und die Glasperlen-Sammlung des Glasmuseums verdeutlichen das große handwerkliche Geschick, mit dem bereits die frühen Hochkulturen wahre Meisterwerke aus Glas schufen.

Wissenschaftliches Glaskabinett

Das „Wissenschaftliche Glas-Kabinett“ zeigt die Entwicklung des Glases zum Instrument für Forschung und Wissenschaft und zum heute unentbehrlichen Werk(t)stoff der Industrie. Es wendet sich mit der didaktischen Aufarbeitung der Exponate (u. a. Barometer, Schusterkugeln, Glühlampen, Linsen) in erster Linie an Jugendliche, um deren Interesse an Wissenschaft und Technik zu fördern.

Paperweights

Das “Paperweight-Kabinett” mit über 600 gläsernen Briefbeschwerern der Sammlung Peter von Brackels aus Bad Honnef zeigt Paperweights aus der Zeit des späten Biedermeier, Historismus, Jugendstils, Art déco bis hin zur Neuzeit, wie sie in Deutschland, Böhmen, Schlesien, Belgien, Italien, Frankreich und anderen europäischen Ländern hergestellt wurden. Zu sehen sind sehr seltene so genannte „klassische“ Paperweigths aus der Zeit von 1840/42 bis um 1860/70 (“Millefiori”-, Sulfid-, Lampenglas-Paperweights”), der „frühen nachklassischen“ Zeit von ca. 1870/80 bis um 1905/10 (“Volkskunst”- bzw. “Arbeitspausen”-Paperweights”, der “sonstigen nachklassischen“ Zeit von ca.1880/90 bis 1945 sowie Sammlerstücke von heute.

 

 

Großes Haus

Glas von A bis Z

Wertheim konnte in den 1950er Jahren einen enormen wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung verzeichnen. Grund dafür war die Spezialisierung auf die heute noch existierende Glasindustrie mit der Herstellung und Weiterverarbeitung von technischem Laborglas. Die Gründung des „Glaswerk Wertheim“ im Jahr 1949 war ein wichtiger Meilenstein. Fünf Glasunternehmer aus Thüringen sicherten sich damit ihre Rohstoffquelle: Rudolf Brand, Dr. Fritz Friedrichs, Josef Friedrichs, Dr. Hans Löber und Carl Zitzmann. Wertheim ist heute nach Mainz und vor Ilmenau in Thüringen das zweitgrößte Zentrum der deutschen Laborglasindustrie. Eine beeindruckende Sammlung davon, wie Glas in der Industrie genutzt wird, gibt die Ausstellung “Glas von A bis Z” im zweiten Stock.

Spielstationen-Parcours: Für Kinder

Spielstationen-Parcours mit 35 Glas-Spiel-Stationen als interaktive Präsentation nach dem Vorbild des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Kinder- und Jugendmuseen, in dem nicht nur Kinder und Jugendliche die vielen Facetten des Werkstoffes Glas auf spielerische Weise ‘be-greifen’.

 

  • 18.09.20 bis 20.09.20: Glasperlensymposium, Rathaus Wertheim (entfällt wegen Corona)
  • 28.11.20 bis 06.01.2021: Eröffnung des Weihnachtsbasars mit historischem und modernen Christbaumschmuck aus Glas und dem funkelnden und glitzernden 4 m hohen “Thüringer-Figuren-Baum” in der Eingangshalle des Glasmusems.
    Öffnungszeiten Weihnachtsbasar:
    Di – So + Feiertage: 14 – 17 Uhr;    24.+31.12. geschlossen
    Unsere aktuellen Öffnungszeiten des Museums (ab 2. November geschlossen) finden Sie auf unserer Startseite. 
  • Dezember 2020: Teilnahme am “Wertheimer Adventskalender”, der aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie dieses Jahr Online stattfindet (01.-14.12.2020); Infos hierzu finden Sie bei der Tourismus Wertheim

Hier finden Sie alle Informationen zu unserer ausleihbaren Mitmachausstellung “Energieparcours – Alle Energie kommt von der Sonne?” mit 30 interaktiven Stationen zum Thema Energie.